You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

First day with Affinity Designer

I bought AP on the day it came out and love it, today I bought AD, trouble is I'm not a designer and have no experience with Photoshop.

What I want to do is create a logo to go on the rear of greetings cards etc. I watched the Text to Path video amongst others which were very useful but I can't work out how to proceed further.

This screenshot shows where I'm up to so far     post-13090-0-16605400-1444332007_thumb.p

The name at the top is about right but how do I insert a word at the bottom of the circle on the outside and on the path?

Also I'd like to give the circle a gradient going from grey at the top to brown at the bottom, so far I've only been able to add a gradient as a single colour.

Sorry if this is basic stuff but I need some help.

Thanks in advance.

Graham

post-13090-0-16605400-1444332007_thumb.png

Hi Graham,

here’s a recipe for your text:

• Create a circle and make sure it is selected
  • Go to Layer > Convert to Text Path. This will convert your circle into a text path, and you will see a blinking cursor on the circumference of the circle.
  • Now type the words that are supposed to be on the top of the circle, choose Center from the context toolbar, highlight your words and adjust font attributes as desired.
  • Set the blinking cursor to the end of your phrase and hit Return
  • Now type the words that are supposed to be on the bottom of the circle. To bring the bottom words out of the circle area, highlight them and adjust the Baseline Shift parameter from the context toolbar. You might also need to adjust tracking and / or kerning for the bottom words or letter pairs respectively. Open the Character Panel and adjust these parameters as desired (first screen shot).

I would create another circle for the gradient, just to keep things apart. Here’s the recipe: