As a surface pattern designer I have historically used Adobe photoshop to create stand-alone repeating patterns with or without backgrounds that are also designed to incorporate texture and/or pattern. The resulting designs were saved as "defined patterns" and applied to artboards of any size using the following steps:

1. edit——define pattern-ok
  2. Open new document e.g. 10,000x10,000px
  3. edit-fill-contents (select pattern option as opposed to foreground or background fill) ——select required pattern from a list-ok

While I am very happy at the switch to Affinity I am struggling to figure out how to visually proof my designs this way (which are often designed using 2000px square artboards to create the repeat) when I need to be able to show that the repeat is working and simultaneously put the size it was created at into perspective. Also, some websites require large areas of repeat (up to 15,000px square) to enable on demand printing of fabric in the specific design.

I have attached a couple of examples below to demonstrate the kind of work that I am discussing here.

As a designer who is relatively new to digital systems I am focused on the creative aspect of my work and not especially tech savvy, so would appreciate an “idiots guide” approach to this if anyone has the time to respond. Any support with this would be much appreciated.

Kind regards

Untitled.png

FRAGMENTED CIRCLES B5 3000PX FLATTENED.png

Hi Callum,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my post, I really appreciate your input.

I will certainly take a look at the youtube video as you advise.

Kind Regards

H

One way though you could test this is using your pdf producer as the printer driver and then us n-up printing to repeat the pattern.

Like here (I have defined A0 paper size in Adobe Acrobat print driver, and then specified n-up printing):

n-up_printing.jpg.befedd204d48cfe7ce7a134670121b39.jpg