You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

1.7 Upgrade - Is there a "Best" type scenario to keep settings??

Greetings,

Been somewhat concerned with the number of threads pertaining to upgrade issues - especially the previous settings, assets etc being lost. I have yet to upgrade because of all the dramas dotted through the forum.

Is there a "best type" practice to make sure everything is there on the upgrade? Certainly DO NOT want to have to re-install everything!!

I know that perhaps you can copy (or backup) the appdata folder from C:\users, but are the 1.6 files there compatible with 1.7?? Is this just a cut and past option?

There is also the export function form each individual panel. Thing is...I'm no expert so I am NOT certain what panel exports are required for both Photo and Designer. Does anyone have the full list for both? I know there are brushes, macros, keyboard shortcuts to name a few, but can someone please point me to a full list for both.

I sure hope in future Serif is going to make this a much easier option (like create an export / import macro or something) that makes this a single file event.

Thanks for the assistance...

Windows 10 Pro (Desktop). Affinity Photo, Designer, Publisher 1.9.2

I am not sure if the 1.7.1.404 versions that are current have fixed the 1.7.0 problems that caused loss of settings (nor, actually, how many different problems there were).

Certainly it would help to backup %appdata%\Affinity\<application, either Photo or Designer>\1.0\user and %appdata%\Affinity\<application>\1.0\workspaces

Or, to be safe, just make a copy of the complete %appdata%\Affinity\<application>\1.0 directories.

You also should recognize that the 1.7 release version will not carry over any settings you made in 1.7 beta. The beta and release versions are separate. All you should expect is that the 1.7 update should not lose any of your 1.6 settings.