You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Photo - Insert Tree

It's been a long long time since I've been on a Serif forum. This weekend I purchased Affinity Designer and Affinity Photo and have spent about 6 hours so far watching tutorials for both. Major impressive.

I am a novice at both photo and design software. I know just enough to get a few things done on my own. Affinity excitedly provides more potential for creativity than I'll ever need. That said I would like to ask for help on the following:

1. Attached are two photos - 'Forest-A' and 'Trail'
  2. In Forest-A on the left side of the dirt path, in the foreground, is a big fat tall tree
  3. I am planning to select and remove that tree; then mirror it horizontally
  4. I then want to place that tree into the 'Trail' photo
  5. I want the tree to be placed on the right, in the foreground, directly to the right of the foreground most dog's tail
  6. The issue is I would like the tree to look as if it is growing up out of the midst of the tall grasses
  7. So, being a novice with both Affinity programs, and an art novice in general, I'm asking for some guidance on the best simplistic way to achieve what I am seeking?

Thanks for helping.

Dekade

Trail.jpg

forest-A.jpg

Edited by Dekade

1. Flip the Tree image so that the tree is on the right side. Arrange > Flip Horizontal
  2. Make sure the tree layer is selected and select Edit > Copy or Cmd + C (Ctrl + C on windows)
  3. Drag the tree image into the Trail image and make sure its on top of the trail image.
  4. Using the eraser Brush Tool, erase anything in the tree layer you don't want.
  5. Turn the tree layer off and select the trail layer and make a selection of the grass to the side of the dogs tail and make a copy Cmd + C and then Paste it using Cmd + V
  6. Tweak the image as you want.

Are those images actual sizes or is the trail image larger than the uploaded version?