You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

What is the basic structure set up of Affinity Photo?

I am new to the Affinity community. I am frantically going through all the tutorial videos. Lapping it all up like a spunge. But, what I haven't found yet, is an explanation of the basic setup rules of the app. It feel slike everything is geared towards users coming from PhotoShop, or at least people that are very familiar with the tools and interface of PhotoShop. So lots of explanantions are set up as a guidehow to do your familiar things, but now within Affinity Photo. I haven't come accross a tutorial for newbies that have no PhotoShop background at all.

I come from Aperture. I have trouble understanding how Affinity deals with importing photo's from my memory cards, how to set up my storage, what is the overlaying line of thought about the work process Affinity suggests me to follow? I don't seem to be able to find a basic introductory video about that. Or am I looking in all the wrong places? I was used to having a library for each year within which I had many projects. I would import (and simultaniously back up, also a great feature!) my NEF-files and take it from there. If needed I would export JPGs for sharing, publishing or printing. But in general everything would be neatly together and relatively easy to find. I'm sure Affinity has a similar, but different structure and line of thought that is build in to accomodate photo management in some way. I'd just like to know what way.

Can anyone help? Either point me towards a tutorial on this topic, or otherwise explain how Affinity sees photomanagement so I can familiarise myself with that and happily work with it?

Many thanks in advance.

Best regards, Diederik