You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Open Type Access

JanT

Hello,

I'm new to the Affinity product base but have purchased and am starting to use Affinity Designer.  One issue I am running into out of the gate is trouble accessing various characters of Open Type fonts. Particularly those not mapped to Unicode.  

For example, I am currently working with the Antonietta font, which is partly mapped and partly not.  While many of the alternates do not show up on some character maps that I use, I am able to access them via Stylistic Sets in AD.  However, there are also characters that are not assigned to Stylistic Sets, nor are mapped, that I am unable to access.  I know they are there as I can see them in a glyph gallery listing, and I can see them via Glyph Mode in MainType's character map, however they have no codepoint.  That, in conjunction with the fact that there is no character map in AD,  means I am unable to access to them and bring them into the workspace.  

Is there something I'm missing that would allow me to access these unmapped characters?  

It doesn't matter whether they are mapped or not. Each alternate glyph is stuffed into a stylistic set.

So, type a longish phrase. If you open the Typography panel and move the cursor on character at a time with the arrow key(s), you will notice on some characters, what stylistic set(s) have alternate characters for the particular glyph that the cursor is at will change. so for instance, the uppercase P has alternates in 3 stylistic sets. None of those uppercase P characters are mapped but available in AD.

The lowercase n has more alternates and if you highlight the lowercase n character, you will see the available alternate sets like this:

post-255-0-59098900-1487784720_thumb.png