You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Can't flip images based on transform origin.

Hi, I am new to Affinity Photo 2.3. I have a problem while trying to flip the image based on the transform origin points of the image. I tried enable transform origin in the tool option and move the transform origin to where I want it to be. However, the image still flips based on the center of the image. Is this a bug or am I missing something?

2D Cutout animator

As far as I know, and as the Help suggests, the Flip functionality does not use the Transform Origin and always flips through the centre (horizontal/vertical) of the selected layer or combined layer selection.

Can you give us a good example of when it would be useful to be able to flip through a user-specified point?

If trying to flip a layer that covers the entire document area I'm also not sure how this would be useful, but consider a smaller layer which has some element which is visually aligned with something behind it at a specific vertical position.  If you want to flip that upper layer but keep it aligned, you would want to anchor the flip at the position which should remain aligned.

Another example might be a shore line where you want to reflect a building into water which is below the line.  If you duplicate the content then flip it at the line this may sometimes give you a good starting point for positioning the reflection.