Jump to content

Designer; is there any way to share a template that is somehow "write protected"?


Recommended Posts

Hi,

 I am curious to learn the most effective way to share a template or basis project in a way that would prevent the contents from being overwritten. I other words, is there a way to force subsequent users to opt for the "Save As" command so that the template is preserved and not corrupted by unintended modifications?

 Is there a way to do this with Affinity templates or do I have to rely on additional back up or archive copies being kept available if a change to the template occurs which requires restoration to the original state?

 Thank you! 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, Otto Manuel said:

is there a way to force subsequent users to opt for the "Save As" command so that the template is preserved and not corrupted by unintended modifications?

That is exactly what happens with a .aftemplate file. Each time you open it you get a new document which has to be saved with a name of your own or the Untitled default name.

Make a document with everything you want, size colour space, margins, Master/Parent pages, Actual pages, Document palettes, text styles, even text and images. Then go to File > Export as Template... and save to wherever you would want to have your template files stored.

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012) Mac OS 10.12.6 || Mac Pro (Late 2013) Mac OS 11.7

Affinity Designer 1.10.5 | Affinity Photo 1.10.5 | Affinity Publisher 1.10.5 | Beta versions as they appear.

I have never mastered color management, period, so I cannot help with that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I was about to say "perhaps I am missing something..."  but I just went and looked at the save options and realized the source of my confusion.

What I found confusing is that when I open one of my templates and want to save some edits I am offered two options: File > Save and File > Save As. I anticipated only having an option to "Save As", but now, if I understand correctly, in this instance the option to Save or Save As are identical or redundant.

I have always been hesitant to select "Save" as I assumed it would overwrite the template, and have assumed that anyone could do so.

I also had to remind myself, and I hope I recall correctly, that you actually need to File > Export as Template rather than simply save a template.

The fact that the "Save", and "Save As" commands displays the suggestion that you can save either an *.afdesign, or *.aftemplate contributed some confusion. I guess I assumed that if you open an .aftemplate that designer will "Save" an .aftemplate by default.

There does not seem to be a dialog box method to select a choice to write the .aftemplate rather than the default .afdesign, but I found that if you manually type the .aftemplate suffix Designer will recognize it and not append anything after the identifier.

In any event, I am reassured that for the most part the templates function in the manner I had hoped for.

 

Thank you for the helpful information!!!

Thank you!

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Otto Manuel said:

 Is there a way to do this with Affinity templates or do I have to rely on additional back up or archive copies being kept available if a change to the template occurs which requires restoration to the original state?

Another option to prevent a file from getting overwritten is to lock the file on system level, for instance in macOS with cmd-i –> lock / or to define it as template in the same window, for instance (if you are in Windows I guess it offers a similar option):

1777572306_filelockedortemplatefinder.jpg.892d5492620f3da92e0647ded9fd2ef3.jpg

2 hours ago, Otto Manuel said:

I have always been hesitant to select "Save" as I assumed it would overwrite the template, and have assumed that anyone could do so.

The current Affinity document's file name indicates whether you work in a copy of the template or in the template itself.

macOS 10.14.6, MacBookPro Retina 15" + Eizo 27"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, I had not looked and realized that opening a file such as "SomeNamed.aftemplate" in Designer resulted in a project known as "Untitled", I just assumed it would have opened as "SomeNamed.aftemplate".

I am glad to have figured this out.

Thank you!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.