Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Greetings Affinity team. I have the latest update for Affinity Designer installed and I'm having some issues with it.

First: Affinity has slow start-up times especially when the Asset Panel has Assets loaded or an Asset file open If I remove all Assets from the Asset panel start-up times are blazing fast.

Second: If I organize my objects in an Asset File and export the Asset file to my hard drive, it fails to reimport and give an error. The export process also affects the size of the Asset File (eg: from 5GB to 200MB drop in size) which makes it impossible to reimport again.

Third: If I close Affinity Designer sometimes when I relaunch Designer the Assets Panel will be empty and I have to reimport the Assets from my hard drive again.

Hopefully this is a bug and not an isolated issue cos of my specs or something 🙂🙂

Screenshot 2021-03-04 090101.png

Screenshot 2021-03-04 091037.png

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit -  Core i7 7700 - GTX 1060 - MSI Z170A GAMING M3 - 32GB DDR4 - Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators
8 hours ago, Takudzwa Nyoni said:

Greetings Affinity team. I have the latest update for Affinity Designer installed and I'm having some issues with it.

First: Affinity has slow start-up times especially when the Asset Panel has Assets loaded or an Asset file open If I remove all Assets from the Asset panel start-up times are blazing fast.

Second: If I organize my objects in an Asset File and export the Asset file to my hard drive, it fails to reimport and give an error. The export process also affects the size of the Asset File (eg: from 5GB to 200MB drop in size) which makes it impossible to reimport again.

Third: If I close Affinity Designer sometimes when I relaunch Designer the Assets Panel will be empty and I have to reimport the Assets from my hard drive again.

Hopefully this is a bug and not an isolated issue cos of my specs or something 🙂🙂

 

Hi Takudzwa Nyoni,

Apologies for this,

Are you signed into and using assets installed using 'My Account'? Would it be possible for you to zip up and attach the contents from %appdata%\Affinity\Designer\1.0\ to the link below the please? It will contain your user data (including current assets) so might be quite large, however will give us access to the contents of your assets panel, so if you could have it in a state that contains this and not empty that would be great!

Once we've got the app data what category are you exporting from that is causing the file to fail to reimport? I've had another user mention this, but unfortunately the contents I've exported did work, yet their export didn't. If you could also attach a afassets file that is failing that would be great as I can pass that over to development.

Lastly with regards to it disappearing, is there anything you've noticed happening prior to this? If you're able to reproduce it would you mind attaching a video recording showing the issue please?

I've seen a couple of users mention similar issues with assets to want to try and investigate these, so all files, receipes to reproduce or information is greatly appreciated.

Here is a Dropbox link to our internal account that should allow you to upload the data:
https://www.dropbox.com/request/ThUUNQVDQseEmMAlmPnF 

Thanks,

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Sean P said:

Hi Takudzwa Nyoni,

Apologies for this,

Are you signed into and using assets installed using 'My Account'? Would it be possible for you to zip up and attach the contents from %appdata%\Affinity\Designer\1.0\ to the link below the please? It will contain your user data (including current assets) so might be quite large, however will give us access to the contents of your assets panel, so if you could have it in a state that contains this and not empty that would be great!

Once we've got the app data what category are you exporting from that is causing the file to fail to reimport? I've had another user mention this, but unfortunately the contents I've exported did work, yet their export didn't. If you could also attach a afassets file that is failing that would be great as I can pass that over to development.

Lastly with regards to it disappearing, is there anything you've noticed happening prior to this? If you're able to reproduce it would you mind attaching a video recording showing the issue please?

I've seen a couple of users mention similar issues with assets to want to try and investigate these, so all files, receipes to reproduce or information is greatly appreciated.

Here is a Dropbox link to our internal account that should allow you to upload the data:
https://www.dropbox.com/request/ThUUNQVDQseEmMAlmPnF 

Thanks,

Thank you very much. The issue still persists and I have uploaded the files just like you requested. Hopefully there will be a discovery and a fix soon.

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit -  Core i7 7700 - GTX 1060 - MSI Z170A GAMING M3 - 32GB DDR4 - Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators
15 hours ago, Takudzwa Nyoni said:

Thank you very much. The issue still persists and I have uploaded the files just like you requested. Hopefully there will be a discovery and a fix soon.

Thanks for the files - I can reproduce the import fail with the provided afassets, but unfortunately the user data doesn't contain any assets that have been re-added.

Are you able to re-add your assets and reproduce exporting a category that no longer re-imports? Also are you signed into My Account at all and if so what assets had you sync'd? Ideally it would help if you had a bunch of working assets you could supply, that were then failing when re-exporting - if you can get a screen recording that would also be great!

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Sean P said:

Thanks for the files - I can reproduce the import fail with the provided afassets, but unfortunately the user data doesn't contain any assets that have been re-added.

Are you able to re-add your assets and reproduce exporting a category that no longer re-imports? Also are you signed into My Account at all and if so what assets had you sync'd? Ideally it would help if you had a bunch of working assets you could supply, that were then failing when re-exporting - if you can get a screen recording that would also be great!

Okay it's okay let me prepare that and upload once again. Thank you.

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit -  Core i7 7700 - GTX 1060 - MSI Z170A GAMING M3 - 32GB DDR4 - Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/5/2021 at 11:55 AM, Sean P said:

Thanks, that's much appreciated :)

Hello I have been trying to recreate the error, have had no success but still experiencing issues. I tried out the latest Beta and same problem occurred and when I export a modified Asset it doesn't complete. Designer just outputs and incomplete asset file with a very small size. On the screenshot attached you can see the difference in Size but all I did was import the Assets and reExport it. The smaller one (in size) won't open. Let me keep experimenting and hopefully will be able to recreate the error.

Screenshot 2021-03-07 171045.png

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit -  Core i7 7700 - GTX 1060 - MSI Z170A GAMING M3 - 32GB DDR4 - Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Hi Takudzwa Nyoni,

I'm not sure if you're still struggling with this, but we have discovered an issue with assets containing lots of raster content that was causing Affinity to eat up a lot of RAM (around 11GB here) whilst importing, renaming, deleting or re-arranging assets. 

I'm wondering if this has been the root cause of the issues you're seeing. We have just released a 1.9.2 beta containing a fix for this so I would be interested to see if you find importing and exporting in this new build an improvement over what you were getting in 1.9.1.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Sean P said:

Hi Takudzwa Nyoni,

I'm not sure if you're still struggling with this, but we have discovered an issue with assets containing lots of raster content that was causing Affinity to eat up a lot of RAM (around 11GB here) whilst importing, renaming, deleting or re-arranging assets. 

I'm wondering if this has been the root cause of the issues you're seeing. We have just released a 1.9.2 beta containing a fix for this so I would be interested to see if you find importing and exporting in this new build an improvement over what you were getting in 1.9.1.

 

Greetings, that was exactly the problem. Rearranging assets contents and indeed they have a lot of raster contents. So let me download the latest BETA and test it out, will surely get back here and give you an update on how it goes. Thank you very much for that.

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit -  Core i7 7700 - GTX 1060 - MSI Z170A GAMING M3 - 32GB DDR4 - Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello. Some feedback from the tests I have done on the latest Affinity Beta - 1.9.2.1005.

  • I must say Affinity Assets (that is on my side) have an improvement when it comes to speed when arranging assets and dragging and dropping them into other categories.
  • I tested with an Assest File that is about 12GB in size (the one which gave me problems before) and it has 100% raster files, I only experienced a crash once at the beginning (I guess Affinity was shaking off a cold) but after that it was smooth sailing.
  • Exporting hasn't given me problems at all and I can say I have 100% success rate at exporting Assets and reimporting them into Designer.
  • The Sort Asset Categories By function hasn't delivered any desired results so far (maybe it's yet to be activated).
  • So exporting Assets, importing, rearranging categories & assets within a category has been great so far. That includes naming etc.

So, for now, I will be using the latest beta specifically for Assets and then import them into the Designer 1.9.1.979

Thank you very much for fixing this bug and I know you will continue to improve on it 😎

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit -  Core i7 7700 - GTX 1060 - MSI Z170A GAMING M3 - 32GB DDR4 - Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB

Link to post
Share on other sites

I just noticed something again in the latest BETA. I have multiple asset files imported into Affinity. When I create a category in another asset file it creates this the new category in the Asset File which I imported first. I have recorded a video on this.

 

 

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit -  Core i7 7700 - GTX 1060 - MSI Z170A GAMING M3 - 32GB DDR4 - Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Hi Takudzwa Nyoni,

Thanks for getting back to me. Firstly that's great news that the performance and issues you were getting have now gone away with the new changes!

With regards to the other behaviour with the sub categories, I've been able to reproduce that and passed that on to development. That is actually being caused by the new 'Sort Categories By' option.

Essentially that option should sort your main asset list by name or by date added. Previously it has always been date added. This is what is causing the issue - the sub category was actually being created in the asset pack as though the list was sorted by Date Added and not the list you were viewing. This was leading the confusing behaviour you're seeing - and took me some time to get my head around!

It is also worth noting that on Windows the list sort seems to only happen when you create a new category or restart the app, but not when you rename or import a category so I have also passed that along to development to look into as well. That could be why the list sorting didn't appear to change for you when you were using that, especially if you had imported some assets too.

Thanks again for your help!
 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note there is currently a delay in replying to some post. See pinned thread in the Questions forum. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.