You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Glyph- and feature-based find and replace

I just started playing with the beta today, and I was stoked to find that Publisher already provides support for glyphs with no Unicode code point that aren't accessible via OpenType. I often use this specialized typeface, which has lots of alternates and specialty characters, but no OpenType features for accessing them. While I can select and insert them easily from the Glyph Browser, using them in a longer document is tedious, since there's no obvious way to replace every instance of a character with one of these alternate glyphs. The fastest way I've found is to replace them all with "G+[glyph code]" and then manually convert each one with Text > Toggle Unicode.

What would be useful here is a way to perform replacements using Unicode values and glyph numbers; e.g., "replace every instance of character X with glyph A". If memory serves, InDesign even allows you to combine this type of replacement with regular expressions. This is helpful for certain contextual alternates, like the R rotunda used in historical texts: "replace every instance of a lowercase R following a lowercase B, O, or P with this glyph". For OpenType-aware fonts, a feature-based "replacement" works as well ("find [a character in some environment] and enable stylistic set 2 for it").

Welcome to the Serif Affinity forums, @CmdrSpock.

Have you tried:

1. Pasting one copy of your glyph into the text from the Glyph Browser.
  2. Using your approach of G+something for all other occurrences.
  3. Using Text > Find... or View > Studio > Find and Replace to open the Find panel.
  4. Putting G+something into the Find box.
  5. Copying the glyph from step 1 into the Replace box.
  6. Press Find, then Replace All.

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC: