You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

I am adding line weight to a particular font and convert it to curves on AD which shows up well on the screen,  I then import it as an SVG...open it up on glowforge and it shows the font at regular weight.  What step am I missing.  by the way I am new to AD and glowforge.  Thanks for the help!

Can you add the svg to this post for us to look at please.

iMac 27" 2019 Somona 14.3.1, iMac 27" Affinity Designer, Photo & Publisher V1 & V2, Adobe, Inkscape, Vectorstyler, Blender, C4D, Sketchup + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9  
B| (Please refrain from licking the screen while using this forum)

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials - Feedback - FAQ - most asked questions

You've converted the text to curves but you need to go to Layer > Expand Stroke

iMac 27" 2019 Somona 14.3.1, iMac 27" Affinity Designer, Photo & Publisher V1 & V2, Adobe, Inkscape, Vectorstyler, Blender, C4D, Sketchup + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9  

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials - Feedback - FAQ - most asked questions

To be honest you would be better off using a font that offers Bold or Extra Bold, instead of adding a stroke to a regular font and then expanding that stroke.

The steps needed if you do add a stroke to a regular font don't always get good results, its depends on the font choice.

1. Type the text you want.
  2. Add a stroke and make sure In the stroke panel it has Align: Centre and draw behind Checked.
  3. Adjust stroke to desired width, if you want sharp points choose Join: Mitre You may have to adjust the Mitre: setting to 2 or 3
  4. Go to Layer > Convert to Curves or (⌘+↩︎) on the Keyboard this will create a Group of letter shaped curves.
  5. Go to each letter in in turn within the group and highlight it and go to Layer > Expand Stroke