Jump to content
Willywiz

Lost project images and over write of project images.

Recommended Posts

5D5FD143-BDB5-43F1-B002-45E76CE9DA08.thumb.jpeg.55058db8fa84211cf25e9a254b1c1a8d.jpegThis is a VERY serious bug! I spend an hour editing an image and save it..... I work on another image and save it.....then it over writes my previous saved image or the Thumbnail goes black. I try to reload image and it tells me “Error Loading”. I completely loose all my work!! This is NOT good!! Presently, this Affinity Photo App is not very usable or reliable. I noticed this problem right after updating my iPad Pro OS 13.1.2. Please put a priority on this. Thanks, Jerry

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Jerry, while you wait for mods address your problem may I suggest a change to your workflow that may avoid such issues as lost files.

when you have opened a file (or created a new file), use the Document menu/Save a Copy option to create a copy of your file. It will open Files app and allow you to select a folder of your choice (unlike the default Save option).  You have now created an .afphoto file that has been stored outside of the Affinity photo 'sandbox'. Files in sandbox cannot be accessed/copied or backed up easily) hence saving a copy is good work practice.

Now that you have saved a copy of your current file you can close the open file. This file is the 'sandbox copy) and we want the .afphoto version that you just created as that is the one to work on. Use the Open from Cloud method to navigate to your folder containing your 'copy' and open that file. Now when you look in the Document menu you will see a new menu option labelled Save. If you tap Save, any edits you make to your work will now be saved back to the .afphoto file.


IPad Pro 10.5/512GB lpadOS 13.1.1  Affinity Photo 1.7.3.155 Affinity Design 1.7.3.1 Publisher for iPad ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Willywiz,

I'm really not sure what has happened here but I did see a similar report yesterday. Are you able to drag the file to Files and ultimately attach it here so we can take a look at the file? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, I couldn’t open the file or move it. I was  only able to delete it. It has happened to several image files. When it does, it will either write over another image file or go black. If you are not paying attention, it will overwrite another image file and you won’t know it. The overwritten file just disappears. Thus, causing me to loose all my work plus the one it overwrites. If I try to open it, it will give me a ‘Loading Error’. I didn’t notice this problem prior to Apple’s last iPad OS update a few days ago.

*** Just added a screen shot of where one image was overwritten by another, creating a duplicate image and destroying the image overwritten. The clocking icon contiues until I restart Affinity Photo or delete it. I noticed that this happened while I was exporting (saving to my photos).
E1BA4F00-5C78-4348-8688-17AC71052138.thumb.jpeg.7708ffe9ffa8c4652bf88194d375893d.jpeg
I appreciate you working on this as it is a serious issue.

 Thanks, Jerry 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Jerry,

I've just spent some time trying to reproduce this but I think I'm missing part of the puzzle.

Are you simply opening an image, editing it and then returning Home to find that it has replaced a previous image? When you say 'save it' do you mean you're just returning home or are you making a manual save? Because you really ought to be making manual saves either from the Document menu or from the Home screen.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/10/2019 at 8:28 AM, Chris B said:

Hi Jerry,

I've just spent some time trying to reproduce this but I think I'm missing part of the puzzle.

Are you simply opening an image, editing it and then returning Home to find that it has replaced a previous image? When you say 'save it' do you mean you're just returning home or are you making a manual save? Because you really ought to be making manual saves either from the Document menu or from the Home screen.

I agree here. I notice from above that WillyWiz hasn't even named his files. I always name and save and then constantly save during a project (mainly because I'm insecure about that sort of thing). And then again, right at the end a project save to-be-sure.

Andy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.