Jump to content
biere

Language changes automatically without user interaction

Recommended Posts

Preconditions:

- Affinity Photo 1.7.2.471 running in French

- OS: Windows 10 Home, Version 1903; 18362, System language: German

Error Path:

- Open Affinity Photo

- Create new project

- Drag and drop a png file into the workspace

- Open the Contour Pannel

Misbehavior/Error

- Parts of the software are displayed in German (see attached screenshot)

Expected Behavior

- The software should be completly displayed in French

Error Recovery:

- Restart the software

2019-09-24 10_27_16-Affinity Photo.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi biere, welcome to the Affinity Forums.

Unfortunately, I have been unable to reproduce this but I have seen something similar in the past. For example, sometimes the brush names have remained in a different language when switching between multiple languages. You can try resetting the app by doing the following:

Go to %AppData%\Affinity\Photo\ and rename the 1.0 folder to 1.1 and then launch the app and see if you can reproduce it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Chris,

thanks for your answer. I can reproduce the defect quite often (I'd say within 4 of 5 times). Is there a possibility to get a system log or a trace? If so, I could make one and upload it to you.

BR biere

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Chris,

renaming the folder did work (that's why I did not respond for a long time). Today, the defect reoccurred. I looked into the "Photo Folder" and discovered two folders there, one with "1.0" and one with "1.1". Maybe this was created when I installed the last update of Photo. In case the automatic update resets the name of the folder, I suggest you to change this so that this folder is not renamed back to 1.0 after the installation.

I'll observe if the defect happens again.

BR biere

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whenever you rename the folder to 1.1, the app will launch and look for the 1.0 folder—if it isn't there, it will create it. This is the safe way to reset the app because we can always restore things from the 1.1 folder.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.