You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Random Slow/Freeze When Saving in Photo

Doren Sorell

Doesn’t happen often, but sometimes Photo just either freezes or goes on a slow crawl when saving. 

The long way I can bypass this is by making a Merged Visible layer of all my work, then turning off all but that Merged Visible layer ... then it saves quick and easy. 

Again, this only happens randomly. But quite annoying. 

I'm on 1.7 (downgraded from 1.7.2 since the grouping masks issue is something I have to wait to be fixed because I use it all the time) 

I'm saving to an internal Mac hard drive, although I've also work via an external. 

It happens to a few documents, and I think it's after I use Live Filter, but not sure yet. I've been using Affinity Photo for a few months, a few dozen intensive edits, and only now started to encounter this, or any, problem. 

The TIFF file is attached (I work in Capture One before going into Affinity, and create a TIFF from Capture One). 

I also attached a short video showing you that it freezes on Save (it goes on for minutes but I cut that part short), and then me making a Merged Visible layer on top, and then turning off all the layers below, and then saving and it does so immediately. 

Lago_di_Braies1403_copy.tif

• Staff

Out of curiosity, are there any reason to work/save directly from a TIFF file other than the need to eventually move it back to Capture One or other third party app for editing? In other words if you export from Capture One and finish the work in Affinity, why not save the file as an affinity photo document?

First off, thank you for checking and then passing this onto the dev team for inspection. Much appreciated.