Jump to content
mercro

Mask group and adjustment layer issue

Recommended Posts

Hello,

I have many projects made with older than current 1.7.2 version, and now when I open them I'm facing a problem related with mask in groups and my files are all messed up. The issue is that when you group layer adjustments and then apply a mask on the group, the mask is applied to everything underneath and not only to group contents.

I attached an example file, the mask applied to the group should be applied to Curves adjustment and Recolour adjustment, instead it's applied to the layer underneath.

I made a mockup image of the actual result vs what should be.

Thanks

example.afphoto

Result.png

What should be.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's a known bug in 1.7.2 but we are expecting a fix very soon now


Due to the fact that Boris Johnson is now our Prime Minister, punctuation, spelling and grammar will never be worried about ever again.  We now have far bigger problems to be concerned about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, carl123 said:

It's a known bug in 1.7.2 but we are expecting a fix very soon now

Thanks for the quick answer, hope it's fixed soon! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, mercro said:

I bought from App Store, is there any way to downgrade or get a key to download a downgrade?

Not if you purchased it through the App Store I'm afraid, or you have a Time Machine backup. I don't think it will be too long until the macOS beta is available with the fix. I'm very sorry. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seem ridiculous that I have to buy the software again to be able to get rid of a work impeding bug. If this is a software aimed to professionals it should be reliable, no professional can spend a month without being able to use their paid software. If you cannot give alternatives that do not stop production then aim it to amateur consumers. It's not some obscure effect filter function that we are talking, it's the most basic stuff: masks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have to say I'm surprised this is taking so long to fix, and was missed in testing in the first place. Fortunately I managed to downgrade, being on the PC version but it would have been a real pain if I couldn't.

I would have thought prior to releasing a public non-beta update you would open up a series of files with a variety of adjustments, export them and confirm the final image conformed to that produced by the previous version of the program (unless there was a specific fix involved)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi mercro, tims,
Welcome to Affinity Forums :)
We do test the program(s) as much as we can before make them widely available, however the release and integration with Publisher for 1.7x cycle required more changes to all programs than usual which end up creating additional issues that were not flagged during testing. I'm sorry for the inconvenience this is causing you. We are doing our best to fix them as soon as possible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.