You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Adjustment to Luminosity Mask

Hi all.  I'm new to Affinity so I hope I'm asking this in the right place.

When you make a luminosity selection (by clicking ctrl+alt and clicking the thumbnail) and then open an adjustment layer (say, curves for instance) then click alt and thumbnail to show the mask, can you not make an adjustment to that mask?  Levels, for instance?  I can't seem to make any adjustment to it.  I'm pretty sure you can in PS.

You can make the luminosity mask using ctrl + alt (cmd + alt on Mac) then go to the channel panel and righting on pixel selection and make a spare channel. From the channel panel you can load that spare channel into any adjustment layers you want.

So, once you have your spare "luminosity" channel add an adjustment and then right click on the spare "luminosity" channel and select load to "adjustment layer"

iMac 27" 2019 Somona 14.3.1, iMac 27" Affinity Designer, Photo & Publisher V1 & V2, Adobe, Inkscape, Vectorstyler, Blender, C4D, Sketchup + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9  
B| (Please refrain from licking the screen while using this forum)

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials - Feedback - FAQ - most asked questions

Thank you, firstdefence. 

When I do that, the adjustment only affects the pixel layer underneath.  Obviously, that would usually be what you'd want but I would like to be able to increase the contrast in the actual mask itself.  When I click alt + the mask to reveal the b&w image, I can't seem to make any adjustments to it.  Is there a way you can do that?

• 2 weeks later...
On 9/14/2019 at 7:56 AM, Waltarus said:

Thank you, firstdefence.