Marcocampo

[Fixed] Printing issues with Publisher – another approach

Hi there,

I've seen many topics on  Affinity Publisher Printing Issues, most of them talk about DPI and PPI as well as bad print quality. If you want to learn about DPI and PPI, you can take a look to "James Ritson – Understanding DPI" in an Affinity Spotlight, it's very good and understandable.

I encountered some problems too, but after some investigation I can say that the DPI-Settings in Document Settings are not the culprit for those issues. I'm a professional designer and use  Affinity Publisher to create Layouts as well as PDFs for Print Productions, and all that works fine. If you stay with the default document setting of 300 DPI, you can produce high quality layouts and PDFs.

1145513047_Bildschirmfoto2019-08-24um09_47_15.thumb.png.fccdf40b6ef9f34961cde3287eb2e327.png

Our Layoutprints are done with an XEROX 7750, an A3 color laser and the colormanagement runs with ColorSync where we use custom ICC profiles for Linearzation and Colormatching, made with i1 Profiler. We use macs running 10.14 mojave. This workflow is stable and controlled with constant results. This Laser prints with 1200dpi mad makes about 150 LPI, which simulates standard offset printing correctly in terms of color and offset rastering. There is no RIP, we print directly to the printer. With Indesign and Acrobat as well as with other softwares, all works fine. For that reason, I can say: Its not the printer or the RIP.