You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Photo changes image dpi on Copy & Paste

Hi,
i'm quite new to Affinity Photo so probably i'm just to blind to see the answer or my mistake.
I opened a photo which has a resolution of 300dpi.
I selected a part of the image and used the function "New from Clipboard" (Strg + Alt + Shift + n).
When i check the document size the pasted image only has 96dpi.

Is this a desired behaviour or is it a bug?

Regards

Alex

Edited by McAvity

15 hours ago, McAvity said:

Is this a desired behaviour or is it a bug?

I don't know if it is generally considered desired but it isn't a bug. It is just how the app works.

All 3 1.10.8, & all 3 V2.4.1 Mac apps; 2020 iMac 27"; 3.8GHz i7, Radeon Pro 5700, 32GB RAM; macOS 10.15.7
Affinity Photo 
1.10.8; Affinity Designer 1.108; & all 3 V2 apps for iPad; 6th Generation iPad 32 GB; Apple Pencil; iPadOS 15.7

Hi,

thank you for your reply.

I had been using GIMP (and Photoshop) quite a while before using Affinity Photo.
I just tested the same procedure with GIMP.
The pasted picture has a resolution of 300dpi.

I also did test to open a 300dpi image in Affinity Photo, made a selection, copied it and than pasted it into GIMP as a new picture. In GIMP the pasted picture has a resolution of 300dpi.

Does it make any sense that with Affinity Photo the resolution is dropped to 96dpi? Isn't this also a change of the "image quality"?

Regards

Alex

35 minutes ago, McAvity said:

Does it make any sense that with Affinity Photo the resolution is dropped to 96dpi? Isn't this also a change of the "image quality"?

a) In my eyes it makes no sense at all. For a print designer the size information (per cm/inch, …) is vital and it really isn’t helpful to change the dpi setting with copy/paste.

b) Nevertheless your worries about „image quality“ are completely unnecessary: