You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Hi All,

I am new to Affinity range. In PagePlus I had a text frame and I click on "Justify Paragraph". That kind of makes the text even within the text frame. In Affinity Publisher I see I have more choices, but experimenting I could find similar result. Did I miss something? Or how do I set this up and save as a favourite? Thanks in advance

Justification can be set for a selected paragraph using the Justify control on the Toolbar:

justify-icon.png.ecf1c801d22b80e1ca7ff262b5d87a5a.png

Or you can set it using the corresponding controls in the Paragraph studio panel:
image.png.b64cc42dbc0214c1b5b940f884c06ac1.png

The difference between them (Justify Left/Center/Right/All) is only in the treatment of the last line of the paragraph. All fully justifies it, too. Left/Center/Right don't justify the last line, but align it left/center/right as shown on the icons.

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.4.1, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.4.1

Hi Walt,

Thanks for your quick reply. I experimented a bit with the settings you mention. I think if I select Justify All it also stretches a line that just has a few words, e.g. half length on last line, which then looks bad. I am used to the Publisher (old suite) having a nice Justify All what did a better job lining things up in a text frame squarely, but not stretching overly. I guess just have to keep experimenting.

2 hours ago, mnh said:

Hi Walt,