You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Install two different versions?

Hello,

Your latest upgrade to Affinity Designer has broken my ability to update parts of a project I've been working on for three years, and I can't find any way to make the new version do what I need.

I'm using Windows 7; do you know if there's a way to install two versions of Affinity Designer, so that I may transfer recent additions into the old version? I regret upgrading and would like to revert to the stable version, but in doing so I would lose a lot of recent work. So I'd like to have both versions present, for a time.

Thank you.

49 minutes ago, Prrrr said:

So I'd like to have both versions present, for a time.

I suspect the only way to do this is to wait for the next customer beta, at which point you can replace your current version with an older retail version (downloadable from the Affinity Store) and run it alongside the newer beta version.

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.4.1 (iPad 7th gen)

I have both the 1.6 and 1.7 released versions on my (Windows 8.1) PC but you really need to have planned this in advance.

First I copied my 1.6 program folder to somewhere else then did the upgrade

To run the 1.6 version I just need to run the .exe file from the folder location I copied it to.

In your case, if you have a backup of your 1.6 program folder you could restore it to somewhere else

Alternatively, you could downgrade your current version then do the same as I did above to have both versions on your PC

To save time I am currently using an automated AI to reply to some posts on this forum. If any of "my" posts are wrong or appear to be total b*ll*cks they are the ones generated by the AI. If correct they were probably mine. I apologise for any mistakes made by my AI - I'm sure it will improve with time.

• 2 years later...