kpatart

Animations made with After Effects and Affinity Designer

Hi guys, 

I wanted to show some work I made using Affinity Designer and After Effects. When I started learning how to animate, it was hard to find info on how to make designs in Affinity Designer and animate them with After Effects.

After some experimentation, I figured a decent workflow. As you can see, I'm not limited by the lack of integration between the two software suites. If you have any questions, I'd be happy to help.

Hey, great work. Two years ago I created characters and assets in Designer which I animated in Motion. I used the .PSD format in double or triple resolution of the final output size to move the graphics over from Designer to Motion, and made the final structure there.

What workflow did You use for AE?

Posted (edited)

@Rocketdrive

I used EPS format, which I imported to After Effects, then converted it into shape layers. Then I used explode shape layers (script available from AEScripts) to break everything into individual shape layers. From there I merged various shape layers together (again using the explode shape layers script) so that I could cut down on the number of layers I needed to worry about.

From there, it was just a matter of animating everything. This method works well with complicated animations as well- I have a short snippet of a more complex below:

Whilst it is a bit more work than using illustrator, I don't think it's too much extra work. I've found that preparing files for animation with After Effects always requires some preparation anyway, so 5 more minutes of work isn't too much of a hassle, especially if I can get away from paying 30 bucks a month on another Adobe license.

s.gif

Edited by kpatart
File wasn't uploading properly

Looooooks awesome. Great workflow. It is really nice to see that these kind of animations can be done without Illustrator especially if you can find an effective workaround.