Use a mask, a mask must have a fill to work.

• Fill the ellipse with black
  • right click on the Ellipse layer and select Mask to Below

The benefits of using a mask are, you can reposition the mask, you can scale the mask, you can apply effects to the mask. 

iMac 27" Late 2015 Fully Loaded, iMac 27" Mid 2011 both running High Sierra 10.13.6 - Affinity Designer/Photo, Publisher Beta 1.7.0.140, Illustrator CC, Inkscape, Blender, Sketchup, Pepakura Designer, MTC, Pixelmator & Pixelmator Pro + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9 B|  

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials Instagram & Flickr - Affinity Live 19th June 2019

LOL I've never used Pixel Persona before! Interesting - I might use this again some time!

Thanks for the tip.

What, in a nutshell, would be an overall reason to use this persona?

Mac OS X El Capitan Version 10.11.6

AD version 1.6.0

Mixing vectors and raster, pixel persona allows you to edit raster objects within Affinity Designer.

iMac 27" Late 2015 Fully Loaded, iMac 27" Mid 2011 both running High Sierra 10.13.6 - Affinity Designer/Photo, Publisher Beta 1.7.0.140, Illustrator CC, Inkscape, Blender, Sketchup, Pepakura Designer, MTC, Pixelmator & Pixelmator Pro + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9 B|  

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials Instagram & Flickr - Affinity Live 19th June 2019

11 minutes ago, firstdefence said:

• right click on the circle and select Mask to Below

The benefits of using a mask are, you can reposition the mask, you can scale the mask, you can apply effects to the mask. 

Thanks also for this method. Once again this is a first for me as I have never used masking before!

AD version 1.6.0

2 minutes ago, firstdefence said:

Mixing vectors and raster, pixel persona allows you to edit raster objects within Affinity Designer.

When in the Pixel Persona the drawing tools are not visible or could they be or does it mean jumping from one Persons to another?

AD version 1.6.0