davemike

[By Design] AP 1.7 - Resize document does not work properly

Hi Andy,

If the designer knows what spatial size he needs the image to be, then the APPLICATION should calculate and present the best resolution for that size,
the designer can then decide if he wants to regulate resolution for size accuracy or vice-versa. All this should/can be done in one window at the same time.

I have used AP from day one but always found the fundamental approach to "Resize Document" to be wrong.
BTW, I have been a graphic designer/computer artist for many years, (and some of my best friends are programmers).

David

I agree Dave. Ive created a post about it below. If its by design then its completely idiotic. Why have a toggle button if the results are going to be the same?

The "Resize Document" procedure has been intentionally designed this way, and it is not considered to be a bug. Unfortunately there is is a huge misconception and misunderstanding on the behalf of the Affinity Photo team, regarding necessary functions required by photo editors and designers. We need to be able to change size versus resolution, while we make the decisions of what we aim for, but the application should make the calculations, Photoshop "Resize Document" has had it right for many years, I think that Affinity should have realized this and tried to produce similar results, it was clear from the 1st A.P. that they got it wrong, and now they are continuing to develop the app based on the same mistake. (the crop tool also suffers in part from the same fundamental flaw). Affinity must re-think the approach based on functionality, flexibility, accuracy, user-friendliness. Is this the best place for our request, or should it be in "future requests"?

So, there are no bugs in any app because everthing is "by design"? Why are we wasting our time here?

Best regards,

Petar Petrenko
Typesetter, Graphic Designer, Photographer
Skopje, Makedonija

Windows 10 x64 Pro
Dell Inspiron 7559 i7