You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Before I begin, I have never used a layout program before, so total noob here. Maybe this exists already, but it would be good to have a pool of images to browse through while laying out a document. In video editors, these are called bins. In my particular example, I'm laying out my first photography print portfolio and while I'm deciding on which images go where, it would be great to have a "palette" of images I've selected for this project instead of having to import, place, remove, import, over and over. Again, if this exists already, please point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance.

iPad Pro 12.9 M1/Mac Mini M1, in that order

You could use the Assets panel for this, but I would tend to use a file manager (showing thumbnails, on my half of my second screen, perhaps pinned on top).

Then you can simply drag and drop onto the page, or directly into a picture frame.

If you use a picture frame then you can just drag a replacement onto the original.

Win10 Home x64   |   AMD Ryzen 7 2700X @ 3.7GHz   |   48 GB RAM   |   1TB SSD   |   nVidia GTX 1660   |   Wacom Intuos Pro

1 hour ago, Aammppaa said:

You could use the Assets panel for this, but I would tend to use a file manager (showing thumbnails, on my half of my second screen, perhaps pinned on top).

Then you can simply drag and drop onto the page, or directly into a picture frame.

If you use a picture frame then you can just drag a replacement onto the original.

I thought the Assets panel might be the answer, but I can't seem to select images to place in there. Maybe I'm missing something

You probably want to create a new folder in the assets panel, and give it a name.

Then drag and drop your images into it from your file manager.

You then use this as your bin, to drop objects into the document.

But as I say, I see little advantage over dragging and dropping directly from the file manager, in this particular instance.