You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Node coordinates are messed up

I was very excited about the update to 1.7. The reset of the toolbar was annoying, but I sorted that pretty quickly. But now I have run into a problem that seriously affects my ability to work. The xy coordinates for nodes are not the same as the xy coordinates for artboard and objects on the artboard. I have attached an example.

The coordinates of the top left corner of the curve I have selected is x: 158.5, y: 31.503.

The coordinates of the top left node should be the same; instead they are x: -1599.11, y: -568.497.

This problem only seems to happen in existing documents. Documents created in version 1.7 have nodes with correct coordinates. The problem is, I’ve been using Affinity Designer for a few years now. I have a lot of existing .afdesign documents.

Help!

Screenshot 2019-06-05 at 21.09.55.png

Screenshot 2019-06-05 at 21.10.09.png

More info: If I create a new document and copy objects from the existing document into the new document, the nodes show the correct coordinates. It’s not really acceptable but it keeps me working in the short term.

Thanks for the reply, @GabrielM.

I’ve done a little poking around and this is what I’ve found.

— The problem also happens on documents created after the 1.7 update.

— The problem seems to happen on all artboards except the top left artboard. If I move any artboard to the top left position, the node coordinates on that artboard are become correct.

— Sometimes only one of the coordinates is wrong.

I’m working on a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15 inch, mid-2015) running macOS Mojave 10.14.5. I use a late 2015 5K iMac at work. I haven’t had chance see if I can replicate the problem on my iMac but I will do on Monday.

I’ve attached a document that definitely has the problem I’ve described on my MacBook.

node test.afdesign