Guillaume Dube

[By Design] Selection from layer bug

Posted (edited)

Reproduced in Affinity Photo 1.6.5.135 and 1.7.0.333.
Surface Book 2, Windows 10 v1903, build 18362.116.
I'm working on an external monitor, a Dell 27in, 1080p., resolution set to 1080p, 100% scaling.

I'm trying the select an object out of its background; I may not use the most efficient method since I'm a newbie.
The object is an excel window that I screenshoted using the snipping tool; I attached the screenshot ("3-Refresh.png) to this post.

1. Use Rectangular Marquee tool to start selecting the window.
  2. Switch to Quick Mask (Q).
  3. Use Move Tool to adjust the selection to the whole window.
  4. Use Rectangular Marquee tool to create a new selection for the part of the context menu that's out of the window.
  5. Once the selection is adjusted, I try the following: Edit > Fill, tick Custom Color (White), then click Apply.

After step 5, the result of the fill is offsetted; it's like the fill didn't respect the selection I made.

Out of curiosity, I then tried to use a brush to paint over the remaining "red" within my selection, but the brush is inexplicably grossly pixelated (I included the screenshot "OddBrush.png" to show what it looked like,  though the brush cursor isn't visible; it's a circle).

I included a video as well of my reproduction steps, "2019-05-22 15-47-12.flv".

3-Refresh.png

OddBrush.png

Edited by Guillaume Dube

Don't use the quick mask in between,simply use the selection marquee:

• Marquee around the big part
  • Make sure the "add" option on the toolbar is selected
  • Marquee around the extra part so that it joins up with the bigger part(you'll see the marching ants around all selected)
  • Now choose menu>edit>fill

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Win10(1909)Home / Photo / Designer / Publisher & latest (beta) versions

3 minutes ago, haakoo said: