Piro

Bugs and crashes - inevitable with complex files?

Hi All

I’m new to Affinity Photo for iPad, and new on this forum, so apologies for length and if I’m missing something obvious (I’ve never previously used this type of software). 

I'm really enjoying exploring the creative potential of AP with the 12.9 inch iPad Pro (2018) with Apple Pencil 2. For those of us exploring the art/photography interface, the combination of AP on iPad with Pencil is a game-changer. 

I've had no difficulties at all with relatively simple photo editing (file sizes of around 130 mb with several layers).

However, I'm also experimenting with quite complex photo collages, some containing as many as 50 layers and resulting in file sizes typically of 800 mb, and in one instance 1.5 gb (some of the layers involve freestyle brushwork). The collages are made by adding and rasterising photos to a background scene using the ‘place’ function, then the Selection persona to add parts of of the new photo to the collage.

My experience over the last couple of weeks is that once such collages reach a certain size/complexity, the file becomes corrupted somehow and AP crashes. This usually occurs after re-sizing or moving objects, or some other type of re-working. 

I've found that the only way to avoid losing work when this begins to happen is to regularly press the Document button and choose 'save a copy'. Selecting 'save' on the subsequent screen enables the file to be saved to the iPad's Documents folder. Then if the program crashes again before a further copy is made in this way, the saved file provides a clean restore point (the 'current' buggy version of the file has to be closed without saving in order for the saved file to be opened directly from iPad Documents). As forum members have noted elsewhere, other ‘saving’ methods (pressing the 'back' button when in the document, or selecting 'save' from the thumbnail in the AP opening screen) appear to be ineffective.