You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Need easy way to edit Curves to get a transparency frame (Designer)

Hi, I'm new to vector grafics and Affinity Designer, so I mostly think in pixels O.o

I converted a jpg into a svg (8 grey curves) an imported it into AD. So in AD I get 8 curves with different shapes in grey tones and transparency which in totally represent my jpg .

My current problem is that I want a transparency background around the object it self, as the jpg is a picture of an object on a white background. (So if I would do this in pixel I just would use my fill tool and fill the white frame with transparency until it hits the outline of the object.)

So far what I have already tried to do:

1) Delete the rectangular curve of the frame -> this inverts the shapes with transparency and white (greys) and I'm stuck again

2) Split the curves via menu into separate curve (one shape) -> alle shapes are now filled white and as there a lot of them I'm stuck again.

I hope anyone can understand my problem I've tried to describe and more over can help me.

As I have to do this with at least four pictures I would prefer a more ore less automated solution. For clarification I attached a sample.

Thanks 

tuba_silber_vectorized_grau.svg

Thanks, terrific !

Just one more question, please remember I am a newbie :D

It nearly worked :35_thinking:

Either I missed something in step 6 or I am too stupid for step 9.

In step 6: I selected all new objects, which were created by divide. Is this wrong?

Step 9:  Now the highlights on the tuba are transparant (not white)

And is there a easy way to select objects in the drawing (ex. double click) and see it highlighted on the canvas/page?

Thanks for you help

Hi, LeeScoresby,

(Edit: I thought I posted this a couple of hours ago, but here it is anyway. What happens, I 'spose, when working on a morning coffee and vector work.)