You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Floating Objects / Lock Position -- slightly confusing implementation

When I started playing with the "pinned object" features (LOVE it, by the way), it confused me that a floating object doesn't automatically move to the set position (e.g. top of frame, left of column) when changing these options, but that they stay in place and only the ,offset' value is adjusted. To put an object to where I want it to sit, I need to manually tick the box "Lock Position" (permanent solution) or clear the "offset" values (temporary solution).

In my opinion, it would be more intuitive, if pinned objects ALWAYS moved to the position set in the "alignment" section of the panel, but as a standard with the "offset" values greyed out. Then the "lock position" could be renamed to "allow manual positioning" and, when ticked, activate the offset fields -- basically reversing how it works now.

Alternatively, the "lock position" could be activated as a standard and maybe moved a bit up to make it more apparent how it works.

Confuses the heck out of me too, I found that I could use the Transform Studio to move the whatever to where I wanted it.

Mac Pro (Late 2013) Mac OS 12.7.4 
Affinity Designer 2.4.1 | Affinity Photo 2.4.1 | Affinity Publisher 2.4.1 | Beta versions as they appear.

I have never mastered color management, period, so I cannot help with that.

There are two ways of using it. One is to position the object by hand, and tweak the rules so it maintains that position as it flows by making it relative to the appropriate thing. In this mode, Publisher does what it can to preserve the position you set manually. It actually worked roughly the way you suggest originally, and the object would jump about as you changed the rule from Inside Left to Outside Right or whatever, and the early feedback was that this was annoying.