You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

coloring architctural drawings

Hello

I'm an architect and new to the Affinity universe, and i've been working with both Photoshop and A Illustrator to prepare either presentations and rendered drawings ( plans, sections, urban and landscape).

Is anyone using this programs for the same scope? Where can i find tutorials? I've been looking some of them and it seems like most of them are specifically for designers?

Thank you.

Hi, d.retagi,

There haven't been lots of discussions about use for architecture. Try a search on "architectural." I can recall a few that used APhoto to enhance 3D renderings, some about coloring floor plans and town plans. Not long ago, there were some questions about using Sketch-Up rendering in a manner similar to Photoshop/Illustrator. I haven't worked w. Sketch-Up for about 10 years, and at least 6 for Illustrator, so the files presented contained lots of details that were out of my scope. 

Perhaps if you offered a small sample of what you've done, there will be people who might comment on Affinity specific methods.

iMac 27" Retina, c. 2015: OS X 10.11.5: 3.3 GHz I c-5: 32 Gb,  AMD Radeon R9 M290 2048 Mb

iPad 12.9" Retina, iOS 10, 512 Gb, Apple pencil

Huion WH1409 tablet

I have been adopting AP little by little in my workflow. All my 3D post production is done here importing my .exr files. Only one thing still bugs me is the "magic wand" when selecting a color using the material/object ID, is way too limited and is not soft or antialiased like PS. I know that there is the selection refinement but for archviz this is not ok.

Now, when I try to use it for facades and floor plans is where AP falls behind since some basic tools are still missing, for example the bucket tool to read all the layers, vector fills, or create a vector object using the bucket tool to name a few. Although, I hope this tools gets improved over the time.