Jump to content
tictactoe

Invert Selection + Delete = Whole layer is deleted?

Recommended Posts

I'm using the trial version right now as I want to try it out before purchasing, but I noticed today on Affinity Photo that Inverting a selection and then trying to delete anything (via the delete button) deletes the whole layer instead of the intended function (just deleting what is selected).

 

This feature "works" when I manually delete the new selection via the Eraser, but I know that's not supposed to be the end all, be all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Make sure the layer you're working on is shown in the Layer panel as a (Pixel) layer, not an (Image) layer.

You get (Image) layers if you Place an image file, or drag/drop a file, or copy) paste a file onto Photo.

They act as objects, whose pixels cannot be manipulated. If you have one, you would need to rasterize it before operating on it.


-- Walt

Windows 10 Home, version 1903 (18362.356), 16GB memory, Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00Gz, GeForce GTX 970
Affinity Photo 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.486 Beta   / Affinity Designer 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.486 Beta  / Affinity Publisher 1.7.3.481 and 1.7.3.475 Beta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.