Sign in to follow this  
Etienne

Panel resizing, stacking and UI's color

Hi,

First of all, thank you! You've done such a great work with Designer, I'm really confident of being able to drop Illustrator for good (and this an awesome news)!

I've been using designer for a couple of months now and there are still 3 things that I find disturbing / annoying:

- I usually move the Layer panel outside of the right column (see screenshot attached) as it's easier for me to work that way. However, just sometimes, I find it pretty hard to find the correct spot to resize the layer panel once it is detached. I don't know where it comes from as it doesn't happen all the time, but sometimes it is just really hard to resize it.

- Having the layer panel detached, it is frustrating when I need to change some Document setup and that the setup panel open BEHIND the layer panel (see screenshot attached).

- Finally, and maybe it is just me but I can't get used to the color scheme you used when you have several documents opened. For me the active tab should be light grey and not dark grey, it just makes sense (although I don't know where it comes from). Has anyone done the same feedback?

Anyway, thanks a lot for everything you are doing for the design community, it is really appreciated!

post-10157-0-11503700-1428937823_thumb.png

Hi epigeyre,

Welcome to Affinity Forums :)

Thanks for your feedback.

1) You're right. Something's weird with resizing the Layers panel after we detach it from the studio. I will log this to be looked at.

2) This is a known issue that has already been logged.

3) Other users have reported this too. For me personally, i think it's fine as it is. The active document tab is connected to the rest of the interface ("floating" over inactive tabs) - like in Safari -, and the name of the document in white reinforces its active state. Inactive tabs are shadowed.