You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

In a Title, how do I create a sort of marbling of color?

I'm on a Win10 computer. 
I'm an affinity photo newbie :) 
I'm working on a book cover and I want to have a sort of marbleizing of color, or a swirl of a darker shade within the color of the text of the title. 
I've tried adding shadows, and I can do that to the outside of the text, but not having much luck on the inside. 

You could play around with using an elliptical gradient as the Fill for the text. For example, here's a basically orange title with an elliptical gradient running from purple to orange applied:
image.png.229e0e16c63dda13d0a7f2b55f3babbf.png

Here's the Fill dialog (from the Context menu) that I used to do that:
image.png.dc91457bd0a252a6e823976bab8f2147.png

There are more complex ways to use gradients, so if that's what you want you might look at the tutorials, such as

-- Walt
Designer, Photo, and Publisher V1 and V2 at latest retail and beta releases
PC:
    Desktop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 64GB memory, AMD Ryzen 9 5900 12-Core @ 3.00 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 

Laptop:  Windows 11 Pro, version 23H2, 32GB memory, Intel Core i7-10750H @ 2.60GHz, Intel UHD Graphics Comet Lake GT2 and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Laptop GPU.
iPad:  iPad Pro M1, 12.9": iPadOS 17.4.1, Apple Pencil 2, Magic Keyboard 
Mac:  2023 M2 MacBook Air 15", 16GB memory, macOS Sonoma 14.4.1

Alternatively make yourself some reusable Styles the way you want/need or reuse some already available here (take a look over the resources section or see some here, there are a bunch of those).

☛ Affinity Designer 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Photo 1.10.8 ◆ Affinity Publisher 1.10.8 ◆ OSX El Capitan
☛ Affinity V2.3 apps ◆ MacOS Sonoma 14.2 ◆ iPad OS 17.2

I guess it really depends on what your idea of "marbling" is.

I'd start with an image (or gradient or color splotches or anything with some variation) with roughly the palette you want (you can add in as you go).