Jump to content

Recommended Posts

... "the document is about to change, do you want to save your changes?"

What I am not understanding is this - Once that I have completed editing an image and have saved it as an *.afphoto image after leaving the DEVELOP persona ... and then EXPORT the aforementioned edited image, and saved that as a HQ ".jpeg" image ... when I then try to "CLOSE" or "X" out of the image, I get the dialogue box asking me whether I want to save the image or not (see attached clip) - I find this very confusing as I thought that I have already saved it twice, as stated.

If I choose either YES or NO ... what are the results of those BOTH of those choices upon closing that image?

 

CLOSE_DOCUMENT.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the Serif Affinity Forums, @MGBJAY. :)

When you confirm or change the export settings, you affect the contents of the *.afphoto file upon resaving the document. If you close the program without resaving the document, the original export settings will be retained.


Alfred online2long.gif
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 1.7.3.481 • Windows 10 Home (4th gen Core i3 CPU)
Affinity Photo for iPad 1.7.3.155 • Designer for iPad 1.7.3.1 • iOS 12.4.1 (iPad Air 2)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Firstly, Thanks for the answer, and my apologies for sounding a bit thick here, but ...

... I am still not understanding the results of either choice here. As far as I am concerned, I've already made the changes to the image that I wanted to. I then saved that image as BOTH an *.afphoto image AND a HQ *.jpeg image ... with my understanding that the ORIGINAL image remains as it was before ANY editing applied to it, and remains unchanged as the RAW image it began as ... and that is what I thought was the way this worked.

Why am I yet again asked whether or not I want to save it yet again, and if I choose to save it again ... which image is then changed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In your original post you stated that you saved the image as an Affinity file and then exported it to JPEG format. If you export to JPEG first and then save as a *.afphoto image, I think you should find that you aren’t prompted to save again when closing the program.


Alfred online2long.gif
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 1.7.3.481 • Windows 10 Home (4th gen Core i3 CPU)
Affinity Photo for iPad 1.7.3.155 • Designer for iPad 1.7.3.1 • iOS 12.4.1 (iPad Air 2)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, MGBJAY said:

Why am I yet again asked whether or not I want to save it yet again, and if I choose to save it again ... which image is then changed?

Here's an experiment for you which will demonstrate what's happening.

  1. Create your document.
  2. Make sure the History panel is open. Take note of its contents.
  3. Save your .afphoto file. Again, take note of the contents of the History.
  4. Export your JPEG. Note the History panel contents.

You should find at step 4 that you got a new History entry. Because you have a new History entry, your document is considered to have changed. Because it has changed, if you try to close it you will be prompted to save or not.

If you're sure that you didn't do anything else between steps 3 and 4 just tell Photo not to save it. Or if you're unsure, just tell Photo to save it.

Or, as Alfred suggests, Export the JPEG first, then Save the .afphoto.


-- Walt

Windows 10 Home, version 1903 (18362.356), 16GB memory, Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.00Gz, GeForce GTX 970
Affinity Photo 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.486 Beta   / Affinity Designer 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.486 Beta  / Affinity Publisher 1.7.3.481 and 1.8.0.499 Beta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.