You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

I'm new to Affinity Photo and thought I was doing something simple, lol. 
I have a layer that is all black. I put a vector shape on it - a star. 
I wanted to make the star a bright yellow so chose yellow on the colors and used the fill tool, but nothing happens. 
Whaaaat? :) 

3 hours ago, kanada said:

I am having I think similar problems, I created a shape with colour then the colour disappears. Can't get it back. Trying to use Affinity Photo as a replacement for Photoshop but so far am not impressed.

I hear that. I didn't come to Infinity Photo from photoshop. I was using Paint.net which has layers but no Mask Layers, so got this but I can't even apply a color to an object in here. I am NOT getting it and am getting totally frustrated. 
you'd think simple things like the paint bucket would be universal... pick a color, click the area you want that color to go, and boom... color. But it just doesn't work. 
I am now working on a group of layers ... I have a girl on one layer and a butterfly on another layer. I need to flip the butterfly so it's facing the other direction. I turn off the layer with the girl, select the layer with the butterfly, go to document, click on horizontal flip... yay it works BUT when I turn the girl back on... she flips too! Holy crap batman! I'm going to bed before I delete the whole darn thing.

This should be simple...

Used a fill layer to get a black background.

yellow-star.gif

iMac 27" 2019 Somona 14.3.1, iMac 27" Affinity Designer, Photo & Publisher V1 & V2, Adobe, Inkscape, Vectorstyler, Blender, C4D, Sketchup + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9  
B| (Please refrain from licking the screen while using this forum)

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials - Feedback - FAQ - most asked questions

7 hours ago, Meenie50 said: