You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Vital questions from a budding illustrator

Hello again! So... I had bought Affinity Designer for one or two specific things. But as I started playing around, I noticed some major features that have led me to think it could very well replace Clip Studio Paint as my go-to illustration software. However, as is true of any new software, I'm finding some of the things I used to do on Clip Studio either missing (selection wand), changed (layer functions) or "hidden" to my CSP-trained eye (vector line pressure editing).

To that end, I'd like to ask if there are any general tips regarding illustration basics (draw and color) for a comic or manga-style illustrator - that is, someone who likes to make full-on paintings with clearly defined lines and crisp coloration - who's new to Affinity?

The key things I'm needing to know in the immediate:

• What's the best process for color filling within lines, without the fuzzy whitespace between the color and lines?
  • Is there a way of separating color layers that's easier on Affinity than in other programs, or is it still just a matter of add-and-paint?
  • Is there a way to modify vector line width dynamically, or is the curve tool the only method?

Note: I'm familiar with vector lines, but not very versed, and anything vector-related that's not a line tool is a bit arcane to me. So if there things I should know about those, assume I don't, haha! Most all of my work up to this point as been purely raster-driven.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide!

Edit: Did some screwing around RE: color fill and realized vector shapes can do this really well.

• Staff

Hi Nightly vagabond,

Welcome to the forums :)

• If your paths are closed the best way to fill your shapes is using the fill button in the colour tab if they aren't closed I find it easiest to paint using the Paint Brush tools.