derei

How to "release" an element from a page, that has a Master Page applied?

I have a Master Page with a text placeholder and I want to have a unique text on each page where that specific placeholder is.
The issue is that the text is between two layers, so if I take the text out of the Master Page Group, (which has been created in page's layers when I applied the master page), the text won't be between those two layers anymore (it has to be between the layers, as the layers do some blending).

So, I would like to be able to edit my text field on every page, but to not affect the Master Page. In Illustrator is possible to "release" a field so it can be edited independently from the Master Page.

Any suggestions?

On 1/18/2019 at 11:51 PM, fde101 said:

Found it.

Right-click on the master layer in the Layers studio and there is now a set of four options in the context menu, one of which can be active at a time:

• Edit Detached - this does what you are asking for.  It allows you to select items from the Master and move them around, keeping the changes independent for that page.
  • Edit Linked - this allows you to select items from the Master and move them around, but changes are propagaed back to the Master and other pages that were not modified by editing detached
  • Edit Frame Content - this is the new default behavior, in which you can enter text and the like but the positions of Master page items are locked down
  • Lock - this one prevents you from even editing text in Master page items. 

So it looks like they already did this - you just need to tell it what mode you want to be in.

intel core i5,  16GB 128Gb ssd win10 Pro Huion new 1060plus.

philips 272p 2560x1440px on intel HD2500 onboard graphics

Razer Tartarus Chroma

8 minutes ago, derei said:

I can't seem to find those options.

Make sure you are using the current beta.