Jump to content

Recommended Posts

I have, unfortunately, lost several images mid production due to pressing a wrong key, computer freeze up, or a variety of other unintended operations.  Would it be to much to be able to choose to activate an auto save feature (in Photo format), set in preferences, that could have a variable time.  This may have been requested before, but I consider it to be an important feature.  Thank you for your interest.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Iam1of2 said:

I have, unfortunately, lost several images mid production due to pressing a wrong key, computer freeze up, or a variety of other unintended operations.  Would it be to much to be able to choose to activate an auto save feature (in Photo format), set in preferences, that could have a variable time.  This may have been requested before, but I consider it to be an important feature.  Thank you for your interest.

There is a Preference (under Performance) for File Recovery Interval which defaults to 300 seconds, but you can change it. So, by default, every 5 minutes Photo should save a recovery version of all the files you have open. If Photo crashes, when you again Open one of those files you should be asked if you'd like to recover that version. That should mean, if the recovery works properly, that you'll lose at most 5 minutes of work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Be aware that File Recovery is not the same as an Auto Save feature.  Manually saving your document at regular intervals is the best (current) way to ensure you minimise any loss of work due to application/computer problems.

If you mistakenly believe that by setting the File Recovery option on and that that will always protect you from losing large amounts of work in the event of a crash, then you risk being hugely disappointed when a crash occurs

By all means set File Recovery to on (if not already set) but considered it as your last ditch hope in recovering a document that you had not manually saved recently.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Walt - I checked my preferences and yes I see the 300 set for recovery.  So I loaded an image and pulled the plug for the computer from the wall socket simulating an electrical outage.  After restarting the computer and Photo, I was not offered the option of recovery.  The Help file indicates that this should happen automatically, but didn't for me.  I still believe that a true auto save feature is really a valuable thing to have.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/9/2019 at 10:21 PM, Iam1of2 said:

I checked my preferences and yes I see the 300 set for recovery.  So I loaded an image and pulled the plug for the computer from the wall socket simulating an electrical outage.  After restarting the computer and Photo, I was not offered the option of recovery.  The Help file indicates that this should happen automatically, but didn't for me.  I still believe that a true auto save feature is really a valuable thing to have.

Did you wait at least 300 seconds? Had you made any changes, or simply loaded a file? And, most important, did you try to reload the file again?

This is not a session recovery feature. When you restart the program, it does not try to recover every file that was open when the crash occurred.

Rather:

  • When you open the program again, it will offer to recover files that were newly created before the crash but never saved by you.
  • For files that were previously saved by you (i.e., not new to the session that crashed) it will offer to recover your unsaved changes when you try to reopen that file.
  • If there were unmodified files open, there is nothing to recover. You simply reopen the original file again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The file recovery is absolutely unreliable. In my experience the option to recover a document is only offered for 1 out of 10 crashes (or even worse). Don't count on it! The only thing that actually keeps you safe is ctrl + s. By the way, why is it so hard to press such a simple combination every few minutes? Nevertheless I'd also welcome a real autosave feature.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Please note the Annual Company Closure section in the Terms of Use. These are the Terms of Use you will be asked to agree to if you join the forum. | Privacy Policy | Guidelines | We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.