Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Why can't AP automatically save to the location from where the file was open?

Can you at least create an option in preferences so that it can be changed?

 

The current feature/bug is to save the file to the last saved location.

If I have more than one file open at a time and I want to save them, I have to find the right location for each save each time.

consider the following real scenario I find myself in frequently

 

/path/to/dir1/file1 -> drag open to affinity photo using a mouse

/path/to/dir2/file2 -> drag open to affinity photo using a mouse

/path/to/dir3/file3 -> drag open to affinity photo using a mouse

/path/to/dir4/file4 -> drag open to affinity photo using a mouse

/path/to/dir5/file5 -> drag open to affinity photo using a mouse

 

If I save file 1  file -> "save as" or file -> save  then find the right location for file1, then go to file 2 and save I then have to find the right location for that file2.

It works the same for every file 1-5.  This workflow is so time consuming I just can't stand using AP

 

The same time consuming workflow happens if I use    file -> export

 

Perhaps there is something wrong in my workflow.  Maybe a video explaining how to save would help me.

 

Please fix this bug.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

scenario #2 - using Capture One

I typically take photos using capture one.  This is my preferred pre-editor. 

I will often have to blend 4-5 images together.  In the CO12 software I will generate a tif or psd and then send it to another editor.

When I do this, when I select   file -> "save as" or "save" the same thing happens.  The directory of the last file saved will come up.

 

/path/to/CO/session1/Capture/image1

/path/to/CO/session2/Capture/image2

 

So I am working on image1 in CO, then generate a tif which opens AP

Do a bunch of edits, then go to save.  file -> "save as"

the last directory where I saved /path/to/dir1/  comes up as the directory to save.

At this point, I then have to figure out where my image1 was generated and go to /path/to/CO/session1/Output and save it there.

Then I am in CO again working on image2.  I generate a tif and it gets sent to AP. 

Do another bunch of edits, then save.  file -> "save as"

the last directory /path/to/CO/session1/Output

I have to figure out where image2 was generated and go to /path/to/CO/session2/Output

On and on it goes.

In scenario #2 AP should know to save the file image1 in .../session1/Output

also image2 should know to go in .../session2/Output

and any other file that is generated from CO that is send to AP.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, tiguanis said:

The current feature/bug is to save the file to the last saved location.

This is the standard OS feature (at least at Win) that it remembers the last used directory. This is definitely not a bug.

But it could be "required" for Affinity to remember the location of the original file, and use this path when saving it.


Affinity Photo 1.6.5.135, Affinity Designer 1.6.5.135. Affinity Store.
Windows 10 Pro, Version 1809, Build 17763.195.
Latitude E5570, i5-6440HQ 2.60 GHz, 8 GB, Intel HD Graphics 530, 1920 x 1080.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would very much like the option to remember the location of the original file.

Perhaps there could be a preference setting that would allow for this.

What do you say Affinity/Serif?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!

I have that wish too. I work z. B. with XnView as image viewer. There I would like to edit a picture and choose "Open with Affinity Photo". After editing, I export the photo and I would like to have the same folder to save from which I have selected the image. Instead, I get the last folder I've ever used as the location.

Diesen Wunsch habe ich auch. Ich arbeite z. B. mit XnView als Bildbetrachter. Dort möchte ich ein Bild bearbeiten und wähle "Öffnen mit Affinity Photo". Nach der Bearbeitung exportiere ich das Foto und da hätte ich gerne denselben Ordner zum Speichern angeboten, aus dem ich das Bild ausgewählt habe. Statt dessen bekomme ich den letzten Ordner, den ich irgendwann verwendet habe, als Speicherort.

Gruß
Guzzi

 


Windows 7 Prof.; Affinity Photo 1.6.5.123

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×