nefibach

[By Design] Font looks terrible in Photo; PNG export not great either

I want to preface this with the statement that I am not a professional designer, so I tend to use everything with whatever defaults they come with. 

I've been making a series of graphics in Affinity Photo, intended for use on Twitter so set to 1024 x 512 pixels. I noticed that the fonts were looking pretty terrible at any level of zoom other than 100%, but persisted because I have so little time to fuss about with stuff right now. I eventually copied the content over to Designer, and found that the fonts look beautiful at any level of zoom. Two of the images attached show identical files at 150% zoom, and you can see that the Designer one is much better than Photo. 

I'm also not massively impressed with the quality of the final PNG file come out of either program, (or, tbh, any of the other graphic file formats), as the text is not as crisp as I feel it should be at 100%, and very blocky and pixelated when zoomed even slightly. I always thought that PNG was best for text and line art. The PDF looks fab when zoomed, but of course, I can't share a PDF on Twitter or on Wordpress. 

If there are settings I should be using to get a higher quality PNG file, or that would fix the awful pixelation of text in Photo, I'd be very keen to hear what they are. 

Affinity_Designer_-_Adent_23_-_Marie-Anne_Paulze_Lavoisier__150_0__.png

Affinity_Photo_-_Advent_23_-_Marie-Anne_Paulze_Lavoisier__Modified___150_0__.png

Designer Advent 23 - Marie-Anne Paulze Lavoisier.png

Photo Advent 23 - Marie-Anne Paulze Lavoisier.png

Hi @nefibach,

Welcome to the forums.