You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Miter cut an imported image - Affinity Designer 1.6.5.123

Hi,

Please help! I am trying to create a border using a jpg image I imported into Affinity Designer . I need to cut the image at a 45' angle (miter) so that it joins nicely at each corner. I have spent at least 1.5 hours trying to figure things out on my own, then the past two hours on-line trying to find solutions to my problem, but nothing has worked.

For clarity, I have covered each area of the image I want removed in red, in the image I attached.

I am very NEW to this program, and graphic design in general, so would appreciate any help with instructions that are very clear :-)

Thanks for your assistance!

KitchenTool Border.afdesign

Hello Taelor,

i think this is what you were after, but as you can see in the screenshot the images don't match up in the corner.

border.png.4aae78f4786cf06c9139f7c8dff560ed.png

intel core i5,  16GB 128Gb ssd win10 Pro Huion new 1060plus.

philips 272p 2560x1440px on intel HD2500 onboard graphics

Razer Tartarus Chroma

I would forget mitring the corners and create corner squares with maybe a plate and a knife and fork in it like this.

Screen-Shot-2018-12-10-at-09-42-18.png

Another example for how it would work vertically.
Screen-Shot-2018-12-10-at-09-45-40.png

KitchenTool Border Redone.afdesign Saved with history so you can jog back and forth in the history panel. Its the latter part of the history that will help you, it will show how I made the utensils.

iMac 27" 2019 Somona 14.3.1, iMac 27" Affinity Designer, Photo & Publisher V1 & V2, Adobe, Inkscape, Vectorstyler, Blender, C4D, Sketchup + more... XP-Pen Artist-22E, - iPad Pro 12.9  
B| (Please refrain from licking the screen while using this forum)

Affinity Help - Affinity Desktop Tutorials - Feedback - FAQ - most asked questions

9 hours ago, JimmyJack said:

@Taelor It will work if the miter corners are actually 45º ;).