Ingrid K

Affinity ARW image problems

I'm new with affinity photo editor and the problem is when I'm shooting with my Sony camera in RAW and trying to open my photos in preview it seems normal, but at the time I open in Affinity it looks like fisheye photo or smth (I attached photos below ). I can't find any information anywhere. Maybe someone knows what the problem is and can help me with it?:))

Screenshot 2018-10-19 at 19.25.26.png

Screenshot 2018-10-19 at 19.25.34.png

Hi Ingrid K,

Welcome to the forums :)

Could you please confirm what model camera your images originated from, and which lens kit you're using?

This looks as if the raw file is including more pixels around the edges, except at the corners. These are not included in the preview nor the saved jpeg. It is up to you whether you keep these extra pixels or you crop them in the develop module. Check the pixel dimensions of your two images.

John

Windows 10, Affinity Photo 1.7 and Designer 1.7, (mainly Photo), now ex-Adobe CC

CPU: AMD A6-3670. RAM: 16 GB DDR3 @ 666MHz, Graphics: 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 630

1 hour ago, >|< said:

Cropping the image is not going to correct the lens distortion.

True, but I was not addressing lens distortion. There may or may not be distortion in the image as seen. However there are obviously extra pixels.

John

Windows 10, Affinity Photo 1.7 and Designer 1.7, (mainly Photo), now ex-Adobe CC

CPU: AMD A6-3670. RAM: 16 GB DDR3 @ 666MHz, Graphics: 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 630

Barrel distortion, yes. But not all that blatant if I could not spot it without superimposing the images. Had I been explicitly looking for barrel distorion, I might well have discovered it myself. I will concede that barrel distortion could contribute to the apparent vignetting.

John

14 minutes ago, >|< said:

There is blatant barrel distortion in the screen shot of Affinity.

On 10/20/2018 at 1:03 PM, >|< said: