You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

I am new to graphic design and photo editing, and bought Affinity Design for a project. But it seems Design does not have a Selection Brush? At least not one I can locate. Is that the case?

In the below image there are seven smaller rings around the center; I want there to be ten smaller rings. It seemed to call for a Selection Brush. Or am I mistaken? Did I buy the wrong program?

Thank you for your patience and any guidance you can offer. 

peter-apians-diagram-of-the-celestial-orbs-from-his-1539-work-cosmographia.jpg

1 hour ago, Lee D said:

Designer has selection tools available in the Pixel Persona. Not sure what you're wanting to do but have you considered using the Eclipse Tool to insert more circles.

Is there realy a tool to block the sun?    :D

intel core i5,  16GB 128Gb ssd win10 Pro Huion new 1060plus.

philips 272p 2560x1440px on intel HD2500 onboard graphics

Razer Tartarus Chroma

Hi, Axander,

If you are trying to insert more circles into the above bit-map drawing, you most likely will not want to use the selection brush. It won't be easy, because the circle is not quite regular, and the earth area is somewhat off center, but drawing a new set of "donut" ellipses over the existing rings will probably be the way to go. 

You will need to learn the vector tools, which have the edvantage of making shapes that can be resized and re-shaped. You will also be able to draw symbols which are easier to modify that having to erase and redraw pixel images.

iMac 27" Retina, c. 2015: OS X 10.11.5: 3.3 GHz I c-5: 32 Gb,  AMD Radeon R9 M290 2048 Mb

iPad 12.9" Retina, iOS 10, 512 Gb, Apple pencil

Huion WH1409 tablet

15 hours ago, Axander said:

photo editing, and bought Affinity Design

For photo editing is definitely more suitable APhoto. Some partial edits are done in ADesigner (pixel persona), but it is more suitable for vector drawing.