You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Confusing menus

Hi,

i am thrilled to finally be able to start using affinity publisher. And until now it seems very promising and I am already a believer. I don’t know if it’s a bug. And I am working on only a 12 inch Mac book, 1.gen. But already it’s fast. The menus though seems a little confusing. Identifying menu headlines. Opening and closing them. Maybe it’s me that have to get used to it and also due to my relatively small screen real estate though it’s high res.

but you might be able to improve the experience if it’s not a bug. Maybe by enhancing -a slight change in brightness maybe to make it easier to identify the main tabs in the, in my case, side menus when grouping them. And clicking them to fold and unfold them seems a little confusing or not consistent. 

I have more topics but again congrats about disrupting the publishing business. I am a long time professional and am planning to go all in. With or without Indesign support. Even if it will be helpful at some time I guess. It’s not imperative. I will just start from scratch. 

• 4 weeks later...
  • Staff

Hi kimmo_dk,
Welcome to Affinity Forums :)
Sorry the delay getting back to you. The forums have been quite busy since Beta's release and we are still catching up. Thank you for your feedback.
To collapse a panel double-click over the tab's label. To expand it again (single) click its label again. Regarding the issues with contrast between panel's headers and sections/controls I will pass this feedback to the dev team for consideration. I agree that due to their similar scale/colours/contrast compared to the rest of elements they get easily lost/confused in the side panels.

Hey @MEB