marcdraco

Excess CPU when not receiving focus

I've noticed that Affinity is often gobbling up quite a bit of CPU even when it's the "current" app.

My everyday workhorse is an energy saving i3 with 4Gb RAM so sucking 25% or more of CPU time when it should be idle is a bit of a bind. Not being an Windows expert I'm unsure if there's anything that can be done about this. I may be thinking of Mac OSX (it's been a while) but isn't it possible to put a app into a "sleep" mode when it's not in focus - or in particular when it's covered by other windows? I design a lot of memes - they're rarely complex, but it means switching between a web browser and the Affinity window and I find that the browsers are fighting Affinity for a share of the limited CPU and memory. I guess there's not much we can do about memory but surely the CPU usage could be throttled?

My other machines have more than enough cores and memory to handle this but they also need a small power station to run so I tend to break them out as an when necessary.

I should also say (as this is my first post to the forum) that apart from having Affinity since it's first Mac release it's never ceased to amaze me! Well done chaps - this isn't so much a bug as a feature request!

Hi Mark, very good of you to get back to folks on a Saturday! Isn't it late in England?

Here's a typical shot from the CPU monitor (it's not astonishingly high but more than I would imagine) and the layers - these are usually grouped but I've expanded it. I often have five or more images open some with layers, others just screen grabs. I don't use live filters much (don't need to for this work) about the only layer effect I used is darken to make a effect like a highlighter pen.