You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Balance Ragged Lines

I would also like to suggest the "Balance ragged lines" feature. This is something I use in almost every publication I produce.

For those who do not know what I am talking about, this is a feature from InDesign. Imagine a center-aligned heading that is just a bit too long to fit on a single line. Normally, this would mean only the last word or so would get bumped to the next line. Such as this:

The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy
dog

Balance ragged lines would instead display the following, without any need for forcing a line break:

The quick brown fox jumped
over the lazy dog

• 3 weeks later...

+1 very useful

• "The user interface is supposed to work for me - I am not supposed to work for the user interface."
  • Computer-, operating system- and software agnostic; I am a result oriented professional. Look for a fanboy somewhere else.
  • “When a wise man points at the moon the imbecile examines the finger.” ― Confucius
  • Not an Affinity user og forum user anymore. The software continued to disappoint and not deliver.

This would be stupendous, BUT I’d like to be able to override it on a per-line basis, and insert hyphenation manually in an otherwise non-hyphenated paragraph. But, a great feature suggestion.

Affinity Photo 2, Affinity Publisher 2, Affinity Designer 2 (latest retail versions) - desktop & iPad
Culling - FastRawViewer; Raw Developer - Capture One Pro; Asset Management - Photo Supreme
Mac Studio with M2 Max (2023}; 64 GB RAM; macOS 13 (Ventura); Mac Studio Display - iPad Air 4th Gen; iPadOS 17

• 4 weeks later...

My experience with this feature is mixed at best, I finally just shut it off.

Mac Pro (Late 2013) Mac OS 12.7.4 
Affinity Designer 2.4.0 | Affinity Photo 2.4.0 | Affinity Publisher 2.4.0 | Beta versions as they appear.

I have never mastered color management, period, so I cannot help with that.

• 1 year later...