You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

After export image size is lower than original

I’m new to using afininty from ps cs. Please can someone tell me why my megabytes is lowered from export and save . I do not want to change the size of my image. I find it very frustrating that I cannot see its telling me my resolution is 14mb  top left when I’m using a 50mb camera. 

Love the program but will ditch it if it’s downsizing auto. How do I turn off so my original stays the same size. The pixels do not change just the megabytes is halfed.

Welcome to the Serif Affinity Forums, @Beany. :)

The size you see within the program is megapixels, and the number will depend on your camera model and its settings. The file size in megabytes will be affected by you choice of export format and compression level.

Alfred spacer.png
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for Windows • Windows 10 Home/Pro
Affinity Designer/Photo/Publisher 2 for iPad • iPadOS 17.4.1 (iPad 7th gen)

Thanks for reply. Its a bit hard to explain but i know what my mega pixel is on my camera and its saying 14 megapixel its not my camera is 50 megapixel large format.

i produce a file in photoshop retouch and save nothing changes including the size of the file . i do the same in infinity and it has a lower Megabytes.  but same pixels dimension.

There no compression as i'm outputting to Tiff so size would not be affected.

I have use lots of different programs that output what i tell it without no downsizing. PS C1 Lr  Phocus and Sinar .Please can you help me with an answer to this.

Would like to get a professional answer why a tiff becomes lower megabytes when saved and photoshop keeps the same size.

I Output every day to exact sizes in all formats and different compression so i know in my head  what a A4 Tiff at 300dpi i file size is.

Please someone help ??