You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Exposure blending using luminosity mask manually

unni

I'm new to AP and bought it two weeks back. Spent some hours on seeing the tutorials. Went through Luminosity masks (forum topic:  /topic/27214-luminosity-masks ,

by Smadell ) and tried various methods for painting-in the selections onto masks, aligning multiple exposures, etc. Today I attempted exposure

blending of two photos.  The workflow is as follows. Individually processed the two photos for exposure, white balance and slight color

enhancements. Saved as tif. Then opened both photos from FILE>NEW STACK. selected "scale, rorate and translate" in the pop-up.

Then ungrouped the stack. Now the two pictures are aligned and available as two pixel layers. Used "luminosity visualization" macro on one

layer to select a proper mask. Decided on L4. Then from macro "Luminosity selections" , loaded L4 into a mask for the top layer.

Did some brushing with white/black color and various flow/hardness levels to make the mask for smooth transition between the layers.

I am posting the final result and the two unprocessed raw files(in jpg). Lancos non-separable was used for jpg export. Color space used

in AP for all editing is Pro-photo RGB.

Picture taken with Nikon D3100, kit lens 18-55, tripod, ND64 filter, f11. Bright shot taken at 30 sec, dark at 6 sec. ISO 100.

First image is the final blended image and the last two are the un-processed input images used as layers.

Final blended image in AP.jpg

image for rocks.jpg

image for sky.jpg

interesting read. Do you know about Affinity "blend ranges" ? Very similar to PS luminosity masks . Google blend ranges and a number of good videos will pop up. 
I have to admit I haven't got my head around blend ranges as yet , but as like you I'm very new to Affinity so lots of small difference to take in 

@ianrb