You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Newbie asking for "greatest features" of AD/AP

Hi everybody,

I am a graphic designer and photographer with 20++ years experience of Photoshop (original Version 5, up to CS5) and Xara Designer (from the very beginning, up to V14Pro)

Total newbie with Affinity though, I actually bought AD and AP only yesterday.

On one hand, PS CS5 is rather dated by now and I never went for the subscription model.
I still use it daily and it does the job. Mostly photo development, composition, retouching, manipulation. I was just wondering what has happened in the past years and which new functions and tools are available in a modern graphics software.

On the other hand, i have the latest version of Xara Designer Pro. Sadly, Xara has not introduced any new design tools worth speaking of for the past years.
While I still use it daily for logodesign and printdesign from business card to multipage catalogues, it feels more and more dated.

After this long introduction, I was wondering if there are some "killer features" relative to PS CS5 / Xara Designer that I just "have to see".

For instance, I've been playing around with stacks and their different blend modes already after seeing a tutorial video about it. Blows me away from where I am coming.

Also, the Frequency Separation as a filter is a really cool thing.

Surely, a lot of people here will have former experience with Photoshop and maybe Xara too.

What were your greatest features to discover after switching to Affinity?

Cheers from Austria

5 hours ago, Pannonia said:

On the other hand, i have the latest version of Xara Designer Pro. Sadly, Xara has not introduced any new design tools worth speaking of for the past years.
While I still use it daily for logodesign and printdesign from business card to multipage catalogues, it feels more and more dated.

Hello @Pannonia,

welcome to the forums.