Raymond Larabie

2.5 minute startup time

I have a reasonably powerful Windows 10 PC (64-bit) and it takes about 2.5 minutes to start Designer or Photo. I have a large number of fonts installed but that's necessary to because I'm a font designer. I'm often dealing with font specimens and I need them all there. Is there are way to reduce loading lime besides reducing the number of installed fonts? Would it make much of a difference if it was installed on a SSD?

5 hours ago, Raymond Larabie said:

I have a reasonably powerful Windows 10 PC (64-bit) and it takes about 2.5 minutes to start Designer or Photo. I have a large number of fonts installed but that's necessary to because I'm a font designer. I'm often dealing with font specimens and I need them all there. Is there are way to reduce loading lime besides reducing the number of installed fonts? Would it make much of a difference if it was installed on a SSD?

We're going to be looking at improving startup performance for customers with large numbers of fonts. Unfortunately the only way to reduce startup time currently is to reduce the number of installed fonts - which obviously isn't useful for you.

I mean to have read here in the forum,
that some users have significantly reduced the loading time of the program by using a font manager (eg Freeware NexusFont)
it's worth a try

Affinity Photo 1.6.5.135 :  Affinity Photo-Beta  1.7.0.243 :     Affinity Designer 1.6.5.135 : Affinity Designer-Beta 1.7.0.243.

Affinity Publisher-Beta 1.7.0.249       Windows 10 Pro  ( Version  1809 Build 17763.316)

5 minutes ago, Gnobelix said:

I mean to have read here in the forum,
that some users have significantly reduced the loading time of the program by using a font manager (eg Freeware NexusFont)
it's worth a try